Thai Prime Minister to consider full details of country reopening plan at CCSA general meeting on Friday

PHOTO: Siamrath

National –

Prime Minister Prayut Chan-O’Cha, as the director of the Center for Covid-19 Situation Administration (CCSA) Committee, is preparing to consider full details of the country reopening plan as proposed by the CCSA sub-panel committee by tomorrow, October 22nd.

According to local media, the details will include the full list of at least 10 low-risk countries that would be allowed to visit the country without mandatory quarantine. Previously, the government only mentioned five countries, namely the United Kingdom, the United States, Singapore, Germany, and China.

The Prime Minister will also consider screening and preventive procedures of incoming tourists. Dr. Sumanee Watcharasin, a health official from the Department of Disease Control, previously stated to the press that the current proposals, not yet finalized, for incoming Thai and foreign nationals will be three groups as follows:

  1. Vaccinated travelers from all countries apart from the low-risk countries must enter mandatory quarantine/Sandbox areas as provided by the Thai government.
  2. Travelers who are not fully vaccinated must enter mandatory quarantine as provided by the Thai government.
  3. Travelers from low-risk countries as listed by the government who wish to travel in 17 pilot provinces, also called Blue-zone provinces, must:
    1. receive two doses of vaccination
    2. present negative result of RT-PCR Covid-19 test which must be tested no less than 72 hours before traveling.
    3. agree to have a Covid-19 test by the Thai medical personnel upon arrival. They will be allowed to travel to the designated areas only when the result is negative.
    4. apply for least $50,000 in health insurance beforehand
    5. present a receipt or booking information of accommodations

TPN media must stress that none of this is yet “finalized” or official and are proposals. The PM is set to review these proposals tomorrow, October 22nd, at which point more concrete information may be available.

According to the latest announcement, the blue zoned provinces/areas are Bangkok, Samut Prakan (Suvannabhumi International Airport), Krabi, Phang Nga, Prachuap Khiri Khan (Hua Hin), Phetchaburi (Cha-am), Chonburi (Pattaya, Banglamung, Na Jom Tien, Bang Saray, Koh Sichang, Si Racha), Ranong (Koh Payam), Chiang Mai (Meung, Mae Rim, Mae Tang, Doi Tao), Loei (Chiang Kan), Buriram (Mueang), Nong Khai (Mueang District, Si Chiang Mai, Tha Bo, Sang Kom), Udon Thani (Mueang District, Na Yung, Nong Han, Prajaksilpakom, Kumphawapi, Ban Dung), Rayong (Koh Samet), and Trat (Koh Chang). This could, of course, change before the final announcement and before it is made official.

However, the full details will not be officially revealed until it has been finalized and approved by the Prime Minister at the general CCSA meeting, currently scheduled for tomorrow morning.


Follow us on Facebook,

Join us on LINE for breaking alerts!

National News Writer at The Pattaya News from September 2020 to October, 2022. Born and raised in Bangkok, Nop enjoys telling stories of her hometown through her words and pictures. Her educational experience in the United States and her passion for journalism have shaped her genuine interests in society, politics, education, culture, and art.